David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Posting from Dave

with 7 comments

(I’m typing in Dave’s handwritten note, the links are mine   Tarnya)

The most general statistic quoted on the internet suggests that I have a 50/50 change of making it through the next 5 years, that doesn’t upset me unduly.  I have a strong sense of the sovereignty of God. I believe in the resurrection to everlasting life in the kingdom of God to come. I trust my saviour to look after me until the end ( whenever that might be) and to look after my family.

It’s the “small ” things that threaten to overwhelm my otherwise philosophical happy-go-lucky attitude. Noah is playing in his waterpolo tournament today. He thinks his team may actually score a goal this year. I wanted to be there.

Roger and Celia get married on Saturday. I was planning to take the service. I was looking forward to joining in the celebration.

I am blown away by all the messages of support from family and friends from all around the world. It is a great encouragement to me ( if a bit of a tear- jerker). Though I can’t get to my computer Tarnya brings me them to read each day and it buoys me up.

Thanks Again

Dave

Written by admin

November 12, 2009 at 1:22 pm

Posted in from David

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve traveled a lot lately and everywhere I’ve gone people you’ve met from our AC family have expressed to me their alarm and concern for your health and your family’s well-being. And I’ve thought “And you’ve only be touched a little bit by David and Tarnya’s love.” But I have an alarm and concern myself for you. People who only know you through the internet are earnestly praying for you. How much more those whose dinnerware you share; who you’ve thrashed in Axis and Allies. I was talking war games with a friend lately and he dismissed Axis and Allies. “The Allies always win.” he said. I said, “I’ve lost with the allies.”
    Well, Jesus cares for you even more than I do. Strangely enough even more that your parents, even more than Tarnya, which is hard to imagine. So I am going to have to trust you to Jesus too. I am so grateful for His help.

    Your brother,
    Russell

    Russell Carle

    November 13, 2009 at 8:57 am

    • [Russell, your original comment was amended as you desired]

      Russell Carle

      November 14, 2009 at 3:04 am

  2. Dear Lord,
    You know David so much better than I do. You know his sickness and the burden he carries. You also know his heart. Lord, I ask you to be with David now, working in his life. Let your will be done in David’s life. If there is a sin that needs to be confessed and forgiven, Lord, please help him to see his need and confess. Lord, I pray for David because your Word says I should pray for his healing. I believe you hear this earnest prayer from my heart and that it is powerful because of your promise. I have faith in you to heal David, but I also trust in the plan you have for his life. Lord, I don’t always understand your ways, and why David has to suffer, but I trust you. I ask that you look with mercy and grace toward David. Nourish his spirit and soul in this time of suffering and comfort him with your presence. Let David and all burge family(Mum, Dad,tanya,vicki,philip all the children and friends) know you are there with him through this difficulty. And may you be glorified in his life and also in mine.
    Amin

    Hi David how are you doing buddy,you know that my english is not that good but i ask GOD to help you and all burge family in every way in this hard time.

    Gurdeep

    November 13, 2009 at 9:37 am

  3. Hi Dave,
    I was saddened to hear of your illness. You have always been as tough as an old boot in the past! I hope you are back jumping tall daisies again soon!

    Cheers
    Craig Blaxall

    Craig Blaxall

    November 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm

  4. Dave, Tarnya and family,
    So sorry to hear your news! We know that you have your roots deep in trusting God, so praying that He may bring much good from this time.
    Just reading your post about Noah playing in the tournament, David, and I had to say how impressed our family was with his water polo playing on Thursday. He defended so well from his position as goalie in one game which I was watching – very impressive. The whole team did much better than expected – second in their division, wahoo! May there be many other games when you CAN be there cheering, David.
    We are memorising the hymn “Trust and Obey” at the moment, and I feel like writing it all out… suffice it to say that in this time of shadow and cloud, may you know our Lord’s smile upon you, His loving touch, and may your (all of your) trust in God become even more profound.
    Psalm 22: 9 – 11.
    Romans 15:13 – “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit”. We are praying for you and are filled with hope on your behalf – for this world and the next!
    Love and prayers from Sheryl, Rob and all the Aiken family

    The Aiken family

    November 14, 2009 at 4:09 pm

  5. […] left a comment about this […]

  6. There are times when God’s people rightfully wonder, “Why do the righteous sometimes suffer so much?” This is one of those times. I wonder and hurt for you and Tarnya and kids, and I pray fervently for you, David.
    John Stott says he has a question mark hanging over his head; the question is “Why does God allow so much suffering and evil?” Stott says he doesn’t have the answer, but he stamps the sign of the Cross over the question mark to remind him that God has drawn near to us in Christ to suffer with us and for us, and to eventually deliver us from such a world.

    Tom Warner

    November 22, 2009 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

