David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Circumstances #1

with 5 comments

In October Rachel, Ruth and I went to England for 3 weeks. I didn’t know that there would be a swirl of activities, difficulties, grief over the horizon but God did. I came back from that trip not jet lagged but well rested. I had a boost to my confidence too, preparing perhaps for me for what lay ahead. It is a brave thing to travel 1/2 way around the world with a  teenager and a toddler. A few days before the trip I began to wonder if perhaps I had taken on a little too much. In Hong Kong , half way to the UK in transit, Rachel and I fatigued from vomiting and lack of sleep, with an irritable toddler and no stroller ( it had been misplaced in Sydney somewhere in the change over from Qantas to Cathay Pacific)  I did wonder what on earth I was doing! We took it one hour at a time. By the time I had been reunited with family I knew it was worth it. It was especially wonderful to be with my sister  ( we had not seen each other in 20 years). We laughed and talked and talked and talked…

While I was away, David chopped his work commitments to the bare minimum so he could care for the 6 boys. They had a wonderful time. I was told by Tom on my return that Dad read books  to them every night. Something I have already not lived up to!

I didn’t know that the window of opportunity for me to visit family in the UK was going to shut. If I had gone a few weeks later, the trip would have been canceled or I would have had to return in haste.

I wouldn’t have been there to nag a little- “You really do need to see that Doctor- I’m ringing back for an appointment today, tomorrow won’t do!”

In retrospect those hours saved were important. When they discovered what the problem was in hospital they got the pharmacist out of bed at 1am to get the correct treatment started. Wasn’t God gracious to give me that precious rest and special time with family and  Dave special time with the boys and make sure the timing was such that I was here when needed 🙂

Written by admin

November 15, 2009 at 6:56 am

Posted in from Tarnya

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] have found that He sends little encouragements along the way. I’m recording a few so I don’t forget. I know there may be dark days ahead and I want to […]

  2. Yes, God was good! Good idea to write these moments down for the future. I’ve always liked Ann V’s idea of 1000 things to be thankful for.

    Jennifer

    November 15, 2009 at 11:19 am

  3. Joce here, not Garry…

    Thanks for posting about this! With all that’s happened since your return I haven’t asked you about it properly. Looks like you had a great time – you look very similar to your brother and sister! I’m so glad you are actively looking for things to thank God for – it’s always been during the very hard times in my life that I am able to clearly see what God is doing for me. He blesses us so much :o)

    Garry

    November 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm

  4. God is good, all the time!

    Noelle

    November 16, 2009 at 2:07 am

  5. Hi there David (Hmm think I am posting this on the wrong title – but hey I will get a bit better knowing what I am doing the next time. Sorry Tarnya )

    I miss you on Mondays. All of us in this household are praying every day for health, strength and full recovery. Meanwhile as you said somewhere else – where I can’t find it know. It’s not over till the fat lady sings and don’t forget the bellydancers!

    love and Blessings

    Karen

    November 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm


Leave a Reply

