David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Weddings and Life Long Commitments

with 2 comments

Today Celia and Roger married. Dave was going to do the service. They acknowledged Dave’s illness in a special way with private prayer before hand. Then Roger with Celia prayed for him at the front of the church before their service began.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven…a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance… Ecclesiastes 3:1,4”

It was very good to grieve for Dave’s illness but then a time for joy! A time to turn  to their special day.

I think all married people when they attend a wedding are reminded of their happy day (hopefully!). And recommit in their own hearts  to each other and  the vows they took before God.

wedding

Because Dave has cerebral palsy, many people asked me before my wedding day if I was really sure what I was doing. Did I know what I was taking on? I might have to care for him as he got older. I am sure sensible people ask all couples similar questions. No one knows what the future holds and I was young (22) . At 22 you feel as if you could conquer the world. And so it should be, because without that exuberance, one could almost not want to get out of bed in the morning, the world is not an easy place, let alone face a life long commitment – for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health.  And as it turned out cerebral palsy has got nothing to do with what we face now. I’ve no regrets, just the opposite. I am very glad I said yes 🙂

I  wonder how many people asked Dave if he was sure about me !

A similar scary commitment was when Dave and I were considering having children. One of our Bible College lecturers, when we sought his advice, replied that if you waited until felt you could afford children, you would never have any. That was sufficient encouragement for us.

It is not that I was reckless in deciding major decisions , it is there is a point when you seek God and then you trust Him: He knows what He is doing even if you really don’t know exactly what you are getting yourself in for. I have found him trustworthy in small things, so when big things come along like getting married, having children and now facing Dave’s illness you trust Him too.

I have found that He sends little encouragements along the way. I’m recording a few so I don’t forget. I know there may be dark days ahead and I want to remember.

Written by admin

November 15, 2009 at 7:27 am

Posted in from Tarnya

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had wondered if your vows included ‘in sickness and in health’.

    I like the style of this blog – it’s a ‘Burge family travelogue’ (Ps 23) rather than a ‘David Burge sickologue’.

    mandenomoments

    November 15, 2009 at 7:44 am

  2. When we were planning to get married, my dad (a preacher’s kid) asked me, Are you sure you want to marry a preacher?! 🙂 No regrets!

    Noelle

    November 16, 2009 at 2:05 am


Leave a Reply

