David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Results

with 6 comments

My results came back today and the outcome was not as good as it could have been. I have one of the rarer types of leukemia. There is a 70-90% chance of going into remission but the remission is likely to be short (a matter of months) and they need me to go into remission sooner rather than later.

Medically, my only hope is a bone marrow transplant during the remission window. There is a 25% chance that my sister will be a match. If not, there is an international register of donors where they may still find a match. The bone marrow transplant is more likely to be successful with a matching sibling donor.

I still believe that my future is in God’s hands. If the transplant works I could still get through to enjoy seeing my children grow up.

Written by admin

November 19, 2009 at 10:19 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Continued prayers and much love to you and your family!!!!!
    Blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence Jer 17:7

    Margaret

    November 20, 2009 at 6:24 am

  2. I’ll be praying.

    Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. 2 Cor. 1:3-4

    Jennifer

    November 20, 2009 at 9:54 am

  3. […] leukemia. Yesterday he received the test results that tell him what form of leukemia he has, and on his blog he said Medically, my only hope is a bone marrow […]

  4. Medically, my only hope…

    That phrase of David’s got me thinking and the result is here:

    http://explainingthebible.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/what-does-hope-mean-for-a-christian-part-1/

    mandenomoments

    November 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm

  5. We’re praying here

    homehandymum

    November 21, 2009 at 9:58 am

  6. Carey Park Board of Trustees and staff praying for David and family.

    Eric

    November 24, 2009 at 9:42 pm


Leave a Reply

