David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Our new vehicle and contemplation

with 4 comments

My Dad got Toyota North Shore searching for a new vehicle for us. I gave him a list, with price, reliability and a minimum of 10 seats at the top and I got the whole list, right down to the tow-bar! They gave us a wonderful deal and now we have a Toyota Hiace 11 seater van. They even included a little gift basket. So I am happily giving them a free testimonial on our blog 🙂 and thanks Dad!

Every time I put petrol in the van, or buy groceries, or take a snack from the cupboard, read an email or a card, I am reminded of the love and care we have been shown. Dave told me today that it is a great encouragement to him to see us so well looked after. We want to thank you again: friends and family, and people we do not know that well, who have sent us gifts, written cards, those that have prayed for us, thought about us and helped us in so many practical ways.

Dave said that his mouth ulcers are troubling him less today. Now that he is not able to be doing, he is finding that he is becoming more contemplative: mediating on God’s words and being more prayerful.

Psalm 18:2 The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Written by admin

November 25, 2009 at 9:43 pm

Posted in from Tarnya

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [Jesus said] “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.

    “For everyone who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.

    “Or what man is there among you who, when his son asks for a loaf, will give him a stone?

    “Or if he asks for a fish, he will not give him a snake, will he?

    “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him!”
    Matt 7:7-11 NASB

    I’m reminded of an old song about “Jehovah Jireh, our provider” (Scripture in Song?).

    Tell the kids that Toyota is also known as Toymota. If you’ve got the current Hiace you’ll be interested to know that they’re popular in desert countries due to their reliability in harsh conditions.

    Re mouth ulcers: many AIDS patients find that the only thing that cures their mouth ulcers is their own urine.

    Pardon? You’re welcome, the bill will be in the mail.

    Mandeno Moments

    November 25, 2009 at 11:39 pm

  2. Hi David and Tarnya and your wonderful kids,
    I was so shocked to hear what has happened and looking at this blog realise what amazing strength and faith you all have. If there is anything at all I can help you with please let me know.

    You are all in my thoughts and prayers constantly,
    Love Sarah
    XXX

    Sarah Critchley

    November 26, 2009 at 1:05 am

  3. Hi there Tarnya and David
    This week Caleb has had 2 huge mouth ulcers- he showed them to me and i said “Great- now times that by 30 (ish!) and you will have a small taste of how Mr Burge is feeling” Needless-to-say your ulcers have been the top of our prayer list every night! We are excited to hear that you are having a bit of relief from them. Amazing how God uses things like Cancer to teach those around you and build charcter into our lives.
    You are never far from our thoughts and prayers
    Love Nicky Waddell

    nicky waddell

    November 26, 2009 at 6:18 am

  4. […] Tuesday I took our wonderful 10 seater Toyota Hiace for a service on the North Shore. I dropped Dave and some boys at the Day Stay on the way through. […]


Leave a Reply

