David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

A Hair Cut

with 6 comments

Dave said that seeing hair fall into his food was a bit much so he decided to chop off what little remained.

We are hopeful that Dave may able to visit home (staying with parents Glenise and Jim) for a few days on Wednesday.

On Tuesday the 8th of December we are moving back to the transformed Takanini manse. Thank you to “Transformations etc” who offered it back to us: they have been leasing it from the church until now. It will suit us well for this season of our lives. Our packing is going well. I am taking the opportunity to de-clutter a little. I decided to take the heritage tomato and strawberry plants with us; they have been transplanted into buckets. The sugar snap peas have almost finished anyway so I have pulled them up. The children we not at all grieved that I have had to leave the beans! But we have decided to keep the Silkie bantams because they are pets to us (as well as a cat, 2 tadpoles and possibly some ants that Thomas collected and put in a box). Our Sam (15) and Doug Kern built a lovely goat house/shed which our landlord has let us leave behind for a while. I really didn’t want to sell it and there isn’t really room at the manse. I don’t think you are allowed to keep goats in urban Takanini 😉 . I hadn’t bought the goats to go in the house yet: Sam and Doug Kern put up the fence for them while I was in England.

At Auckland Hospital

Photos of Dave by Mandeno Moments

Written by admin

November 29, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Posted in from Tarnya

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! Gee David you actually look really handsome with no hair! Must be the shape of your uber intelligent head! Somehow glad the goats aren’t coming with.
    Blessings Karen and the Vince clan

    Karen

    November 30, 2009 at 11:22 am

  2. God made some heads beautiful and the rest he covered with hair. I thought that I was doing moderately well in the baldness/beauty race, but Dave has trumped me 😦

    Mandeno Moments

    November 30, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  3. Crikey! It’s not a bad look, Dave! Your mom looks great:) Hi Glenise!!

    Noelle

    December 1, 2009 at 2:36 am

  4. Dave,

    I promised I would shave my hair when you lost yours. Yesterday I shaved. If you hit the link on my name (right) there’s a photo.
    I’m calling for all good men and women around the world to show their support and ‘Shave 4 Dave’!
    (…no NOT REALLY. Ladies – please don’t try this without your husband’s permission…)

    According to Leviticus 13:40 “When a man has lost his hair and is bald, he is clean.”
    Phew, that’s a bonus – no need to shower. Mind you, if we shower or swim we’re not going to get our hair wet anyway.

    A great, true, bald story:
    2 Kings 2:23-24: “Elisha went up to Bethel. As he was walking along the road, some youths came out of the town and jeered at him. ‘Go on up, you baldhead!’ they said. ‘Go on up, you baldhead!’ He turned around, looked at them and called down a curse on them in the name of the LORD. Then two bears came out of the woods and mauled forty-two of the youths.”
    I guess no one will be calling us names.

    Dave – you’re my ‘brother from another mother’, you’re my best mate (aside from Joce), we spend enough time with each other we qualify as ‘second wives’ (and our first wives don’t mind!).
    I’m missing the time in the car between ministry & meetings, and the elder’s meetings at BK, quaffing Coke together…
    I love you Man,
    I with you all the way – solidarity!
    g

    Garry

    December 1, 2009 at 10:30 pm

  5. Dave – when this is behind you, keep it shaved! It looks great. 🙂

    Glenn

    December 4, 2009 at 1:06 am


Leave a Reply

