David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig

with one comment

On Monday night I was told the doctors were taking me off antibiotics. If I had no adverse reaction overnight I could go home Tuesday afternoon. My body behaved and here I am, back with Mum and Dad, with the whole family squeezed into every available bed. In about another week we will shift into our new home.
I have much to be thankful for:
1. So far, apart from a distinct lack of hair and having lost a few kilos (chemo is not a dieting strategy I recommend, its mostly muscle that’s gone not fat) I have not felt sick at all;
2. Hospital food is not everyone’s favourite but I have been able to eat and enjoy all that has been set before me. I have been literally eating everything but the plates and the cutlery – and even offered my assistance to the orderlies in the matter of lessening their burden should the trolley be weighed down by extra food. Needless to say my weight has stabilized.
3. The head doctor overseeing my treatment came with a big smile yesterday morning saying that I am responding well to the treatment. My blood tests show that everything is going as well or perhaps better than might be expected.
4. My doctor asked, “You’re a cleric of some kind aren’t you”. Perhaps he was wondering if having friends in high places really does make a difference.
I know it does.
Where to from here?
Briefly, I am due back at the day stay unit on Friday for the last of my first stage of chemo. All being well I will then have twice weekly blood tests and when my blood returns to “normal”-ish they will do another bone marrow biopsy. If I am in remission they will do a bone marrow transplant (Thanks to all who have volunteered but apart from my sister they don’t take offers). I not sure how long this may take at this stage.
By the way, for those who know “Mother Goose” (Home again, home again, jiggity jig), I had a very nice pork chop for dinner last night. I have been grateful for being able to enjoy the hospital food, but home cooking is just out of this world. I am finding such joy in the little things at the moment. In a way, this cancer has been good for me. All the good things around me seem brighter and better. A gift from God specifically for me. I’ll say more about this in my next post.

Written by admin

December 2, 2009 at 10:04 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This sounds really positive. May it continue to improve!

    Glenn

    December 4, 2009 at 1:05 am


Leave a Reply

