David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Good News / Bad News

with 3 comments

The good news is that my legs are feeling great and I am enjoying being at home with Tarnya and the kids. I was even able to spend a little time with some church folk on Sunday evening.

The not so good news is that my sister and I are not a match for a bone marrow transplant. They will have to look further afield for a donor. There are however, I’m told, eleven million donors to choose from and the chances of finding a close match for me are not too bad, though this does reduce my “odds”.

I try to stay focused on God, not the odds. Some people do make it from here. I know God is good and I know tens of thousands of people are praying for me. For now that is enough.

We will know more on Thursday after our meeting with the doctor.

Written by admin

December 15, 2009 at 8:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Still praying… God is in control..

    Joce

    December 15, 2009 at 10:18 am

  2. How do they go about finding one of those 11,000,000 potential donors? Is it something that one can “volunteer” for and then be “tested” for compatibility? Or do they have a database of donors and put the computers to work trying to find the “match” (like “dating” services do)? Just curious: but if the answer were right, I’d be happy to consider donating (if I was eligible).

    Dr. John H. Roller

    December 16, 2009 at 5:53 am

    • John: I have spoken to the New Zealand bone marrow donation service so I will take the liberty of answering this question. Thank you for being willing to help David.

      In New Zealand people volunteer to go onto a database (a simple blood test is required) and then the international dating service goes into effect. When they find someone who matches you they’ll give you a call. Therefore by volunteering you may be able to serve and bless David or another person who has leukemia. David needs to have a transplant very soon so now is a good time to volunteer.

      The most common donation procedure is quite simple. A series of injections are given over four days and then blood is taken from you. The injections cause your body to release the cells that a transplant recipient needs into your blood stream. By doing this you can literally save someone’s life.

      For more info…
      New Zealand http://www.nzblood.co.nz/?t=92
      UK http://www.nhsbt.nhs.uk/bonemarrow/
      USA http://www.marrow.org/JOIN/index.html

      Mandeno Moments

      December 16, 2009 at 7:19 am


Leave a Reply

