David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Conference With the Doctor

with 3 comments

Yesterday I had a meeting with the consultant in charge of my case.

The good news is I have responded well to the treatment. I am officially in remission. My bloods are normal. No sign of the T(4,11) gene. The doctor is confident they will find a good match for me off the international database. I will then likely have my bone marrow transplant end of February / early March.

The not so good news is that I still have to do a second round of chemo beginning Monday. This means I may be neutropenic over Christmas. Imagine having to watch what you eat and who you meet with over Christmas 🙂

More good news … This second round of  Chemo will be able to be done as an outpatient. Some of the injections can even be done at home if Tarnya is brave enough to stick a needle into me. She is brave enough and they intend teaching her what to do on Monday.

As an aside, I asked one other gentleman who shared a room with me when I was first in hospital (name withheld to protect the guilty) whether his wife was as good as the nurses at giving the injections. He said with a laugh, “No. But it’s too late to find another wife now!”

Please pray that I will be as well throughout this second round of chemo as I was with the first. That would be a real blessing to me.

Written by admin

December 18, 2009 at 8:20 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are in our hearts and prayers… always! Love you.

    Aunty Linda and Uncle John

    December 18, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  2. You’re an uxorious wuss – why don’t you inject yourself? It’s a doddle 🙂

    ********************
    Photo of Dave and the Shave 4 Dave team (aka The Chrome Domes) taken last weekend:
    http://mandenomoments.com/rachel-burge-misc/e3a9af64a

    Mandeno Moments

    December 18, 2009 at 7:41 pm

  3. Some people (who may otherwise be quite competent, very brave, and fully “normal”) have a “phobia” of needles. Those who don’t have this phobia can usually become quite good at it with the proper training (which only takes a few minutes). It is even easy to learn to give injections to oneself, as your friend suggested. Of course, a steady hand is a key requirement! God’s blessings on you as you enter this next phase. We are praying for a full recovery!!

    Dr. John H. Roller

    December 19, 2009 at 4:46 am


Leave a Reply

