David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Sinus relief

with one comment

Dave was able to enjoy Christmas with our extended family. He had a really good day 🙂 but the evening was awful because he experienced severe sinus pain.

He is using Olbas oil, Eucalyptus Steam Inhalations and a saline nasal spray. Fortunately he has some pain relief medication  (morphine based) that he can take which he had the doctor prescribe when suffering leg pain (I rang the ward to check how much he could take and whether he needed to come into hospital). Dave has had on and off trouble with his sinuses for over 10 years. Last time (several years ago) when it was severe, he went to Emergency to get pain relief, the doctor said that his next option was surgery. He opted for drinking more water, doing a course of allergy injections and taking a herbal medicine. We will discuss his sinuses with the doctor on the 31st and whether something needs to be done before the bone marrow transplant. I am not sure if his usual herbal medication is an option. All alternative medicines have to be checked with the doctor.

Later… (27th)

Dave had a better day today: He was able to enjoy several visitors in the afternoon and this is the first evening for 3 days that he has been without severe sinus pain all evening. Hurrah! (Although as I write this (11pm) the pain is worsening): I have made an inhalation and brought him a morphine tablet).

Noah helped me finish preparing dinner and I had a nap for an hour. I was really tired: I bring inhalations, medication etc to Dave through the late evening and I am woken in the night. Dave experiences some relief from the pain during the day so he can catch up with a little of his lost sleep although I know he feels tired all the time. I continue with the daily routines of running a household of 8 children. You would think after having 8 babies I would be used to sleep deprivation 😉 But all my babies slept through the night by 10 weeks and the hormones after birth give me  such a high that I do not feel tired for several weeks. I am blessed with the ability to sleep at any time of the day or night. I lie down and then I sleep. That is what I did. I am also very thankful for late night supermarket hours, 9pm is a great time to shop at Pak n Save.

Sam and Noah are fishing with their Grandpa tomorrow.

Psalm 3:5
I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me.

Written by admin

December 27, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Posted in from Tarnya

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am glad to see this post, because just yesterday I was wondering how you were getting on.

    When someone gets sick it’s easy to focus on that person and forget that the fallout can cover a large area.

    Mandeno Moments

    December 28, 2009 at 10:56 pm


Leave a Reply

