David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Medical Update

with one comment

When I went to see Dave this evening, his pulse and breathing were rapid. His oxygen levels and blood pressure were a little low. They were monitoring his situation regularly. It reminded me of when I was ill three years ago. I think my oxygen levels were 87% when I turned up to Middlemore Hospital.  I didn’t have to go to the waiting room so I knew the medical staff had decided I was ill. I felt that I just couldn’t get any air, plus my finger nails were going blue after a coughing fit.

I asked the nurse if Dave could try a little oxygen because I remember what a relief it was to me. I think they give oxygen at 92% and Dave was at 93-4% (normal would be 99-100%). I am sure they would have given it to him shortly. Dave said he didn’t feel short of breath. But on a little oxygen his levels increased to 99%, he felt less dizzy and his pulse went closer to normal and his breathing slowed to a more normal rate. He had a chest X-ray while I was there. When I left him at about 9pm he was stable :-). His temperature was back to normal having spiked earlier in the afternoon at 39.1C.

Written by admin

January 7, 2010 at 9:52 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s useful things like this that make all the difference. Please give my regards to David next time you see him, if you remember.

    If he wants something interesting to read, my latest post is on Sex, Drugs, Violence and more: The Dark Side of the Buddha. http://spritzophrenia.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/the-dark-side-of-the-buddha/

    spritzophrenia

    January 7, 2010 at 11:37 pm


Leave a Reply

