David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Circumstances #4

leave a comment »

With preparedness in mind, some time back, long before Dave was ill, I thought about how would it be possible to earn some kind of living. This was to cover the following list of circumstances, which I thought might happen: if Dave was ill, if he died, if he became unemployed, if working for families payments ceased, if inflation took off and if the children grew up and I got bored! The latter I thought the most likely. I have a BComm. in Marketing and ¾ of a BSc. mostly in Math and Chemistry, but I went from university to Bible College to having babies and so never developed any of those qualifications into marketable skills.

Mindful of Gary North’s advice that my calling is “The most important thing that you can do in which you would be most difficult to replace, ” he defined occupation as the way you put bread on the table. I quote “The most important thing is your calling. Your occupation should support your calling.” My calling therefore is to be a wife and mother. But was there something I could do, from home, that might fit in with my calling? Was there something I could do that would serve others? {About 18 minutes in to the following mp3 is a wonderful discussion how to choose a career – especially useful for guiding teenagers etc, using the principle of not what I might like to do, but what could I do that would serve others http://mises.org/media/2988 }

So through various circumstances, I started volunteering for website work. It supported Dave’s work eg www.afterlife.co.nz/, the home education community eg www.nchenz.org.nz/ and through word of mouth I did a little paid work www.physicaledge.co.nz/ and www.transformationsetc.co.nz/ as a hobby.

I have begun to build a website www.buildyourwebsite.co.nz/ to show my work and my hope is that I can be of service to others and it will provide a small income during Dave’s recovery over the next 2 years. (Most BMT patients do not return to full time employment for 2 years or more). So if you know someone who would like a website let me know 🙂 .

A couple of weeks ago I received my first cheque from Fishpond for my other website www.bookstoread.co.nz/. If someone clicks on the Fishpond banner on my book website, or a book I have written about and buys a book, I get a little commission. It is still a work in progress. I miss Dave’s editing; I often write a word, and it is not the word I have in mind and I can not easily see the error. Spell checkers don’t correct this error. Sometimes Rachel will check something for me. I have a friend who checks this blog. But I am learning that if I print it out and read it later, I can often see it then.

We also have a couple of pamphlet rounds.

Of course this is not enough yet. The large gap has been met by the generous support of family and friends and we have working for families (but I need to be working to qualify for that for the coming financial year). But I feel there is hope. I feel better prepared than if I had done nothing. I feel that God had gone ahead to prepare the way.

I can not explain how much it has meant to Dave to see family and friends come around and support us. He feels free to concentrate on getting well and has not been concerned at all about providing for us.

Galatians 6:2-5 Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

The burden of Dave’s illness, the financial burden, aside from the emotional burden is too great for us to bear alone. But we are not alone. Thank you for standing with us.

Given the constraints of caring for Dave, running a household and homeschooling 8 children ,I intend as much as I am able to earn a living. I think that it is better for me to do so too, I do enjoy work.

Written by admin

January 9, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Leave a Reply

