David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Worry and being prepared

with one comment

Worry

Matthew 6:34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Jennnifer left this in a comment : Psalm 94:19 When my anxious thoughts multiply within me, Your consolations delight my soul.

Worry is something I guard my heart against. I’m not saying I never worry, because I do…

Sometimes, late at night, while waiting for Dave to return, perhaps from a Bible study, where he would have chatted and lingered to enjoy fellowship, I would worry that Dave would die in some late night car crash. I never worried about cancer.  “When I look back on all these worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which had never happened.”(Winston Churchill). Mark Twain said, “I’ve seen many troubles in my time, only half of which ever came true.” Half? I prefer Churchill’s “there are very few of my worries that have ever come true”.

I have seen the destructive power of worry and it is not a path that is worth indulging in. Like the psalmist said, anxious thoughts will multiply. It is easier not to let anxiety take root than dig it out of ones heart when it has been growing a while.

Be Prepared

I do plan for expected disaster: things go wrong. I do not consider this worry.

I have food and bottled water for several days in case of civil emergency. Both Dave and I have terminal life insurance (although in retrospect it would have been useful to have critical illness insurance, but it seemed expensive at the time). I like to keep the car half full of petrol. We have candles and torches in case the electricity goes off. I like to be prepared when it comes to dealing with people. I like this survivalist site, which says

Everything you do to “prepare” for emergencies, disasters or economic turmoil should be blended into your life in a way that improves your life even if nothing disastrous ever occurs.

You might called me a prepper! Preparedness is good and the advice above, that it should blend into your life to enhance it now, helps to keep it in balance.

Written by admin

January 9, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Posted in from Tarnya

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » With preparedness in mind, some time back, long before Dave was ill, I thought about how would it be possible to earn some […]


Leave a Reply

