David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Nerve Conduction Studies

with 4 comments


Uncle Mick build this wonderful ramp for us. The waiting time for a state-funded ramp is more than a year in Counties Manukau. Now Dave can more easily get in and out of the house.

Yesterday, Dave had chemo at the Day Stay and also nerve conduction tests. The tests were ordered because is experiencing some finger tingling and significant muscle weakness (not just in his legs): a Coke bottle is difficult for him to open. Dave didn’t think much of the testing. The doctor said that it will hurt. They always issue this warning. This time it was well warranted! They stuck long thin needles into Dave and asked him to relax.

We had a ring from the hospital this morning asking Dave to come in and stay for a couple of days. The results from the nerve tests were abnormal, more abnormal than would be expected as a side effect from one of the chemo drugs. He will be having a MRI and a spinal tap.

An article I have been reading:

“Have you had the experience of feeling as if you’ve got far too many burdens to bear, far too many people to take care of, far too many things on your list to do? You just can’t possibly do it, and you get in a panic and you just want to sit down and collapse in a pile and feel sorry for yourself.

Well, I’ve felt that way a good many times in my life, and I go back over and over again to an old Saxon legend, which I’m told is carved in an old English parson somewhere by the sea. I don’t know where this is. But this is a poem which was written about that legend. The legend is “Do the next thing.” And it’s spelled in what I suppose is Saxon spelling. “D-O-E” for “do,” “the,” and then next, “N-E-X-T.” “Thing”-“T-H-Y-N-G-E.”

The poem says, “Do it immediately, do it with prayer, do it reliantly, casting all care. Do it with reverence, tracing His hand who placed it before thee with earnest command. Stayed on omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing, leave all resultings, do the next thing.” That is a wonderfully saving truth. Just do the next thing.”

http://www.backtothebible.org/index.php/Gateway-to-Joy/Do-the-Next-Thing.html

So I’m off to do the next thing…

Written by admin

January 19, 2010 at 11:48 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Tarnya
    You are such an inspiration- because you are “real” and acknowledge the struggles while still demonstarting your trust in God. You are an awesome wife and mother. I LOVE the Saxon Story- I am going to put the quote on my toilet wall (the highest honour it could recieve!!!)
    We are praying for you all.

    nicky waddell

    January 19, 2010 at 3:09 pm

  2. Hello Dave and Tarnya,
    I belong to Anthony Buzzard’s church in Fayetteville, Georgia, USA. Actually our church meets at my business, which is an old house that we restored and use as an event facility.
    Anthony has been telling us about you and your plight, and we have been praying for you. Having finally seen your blog and photos makes it easier to know how to pray, and to be totally inspired by your courage, knowledge and fortitude. I’ll tell you later of our health burden, but for now I want to ask you a question: Would it be helpful for me to be tested to see if I can be a bone marrow match? I would gladly donate to Dave if I could. I don’t know if we’re too far away being in the states.
    Please let me know, and I can investigate here how to go about being tested.

    It’s almost 1 am and so that’s all for now. Oh, I haven’t read much of the posts on your blog, but I did enjoy the “do the next thing” rhyme! So true…

    Yours,
    Michele Cox
    [email address deleted to prevent spam – it’s still visible to Dave & Tarnya]

    Michele Cox

    January 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

  3. It’s funny how medics tell you to relax while they do the most awful things to you. I’m always tempted to say “Why don’t we swap places so that you can demonstrate the relaxation technique?”. I’m reminded of a cartoon…
    http://comics.com/herman/1998-11-26/

    Mandeno Moments

    January 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  4. […] chief consultant reviewed all the tests. He has changed Dave’s chemo regime because they think the Vincristine may be causing some […]


Leave a Reply

