David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

From Dave

with 6 comments

(Dave wrote this a few days ago but I haven’t got around to posting it until now. My laundry pile is growing and so too is my inbox, so I will love you and leave you and go and tame them both – they are not overwhelmingly big, yet :-). We are all fine. Tarnya)

My voice recognition software arrived today. I am now the proud owner of Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10. I am back in business as far as using my computer is concerned. My children think the program is just cool. Joe thinks Dad lucky.

Some friends came around and took the young children to the park today, while Tarnya was doing some work on her computer. What a blessing!

I have been feeling quite well of late, my hands are getting stronger since I have exercising and though I feel tired at times, I do not feel nauseous. On my last trip to the hospital a couple of extra tubes of blood were collected and sent upstairs to the bone marrow transplant unit so I have proof positive that someone is actively doing something toward finding me a bone marrow donor.

Having dictated this e-mail I am grateful to be living in such a technological age. I can only imagine how sore my hands would be by now if I had to type out this message by hand. Instead it has been relatively easy to talk to my computer and to see the words simply appear on the screen before me.

For those who have used one of the early versions of Dragon NaturallySpeaking (as did I) you may be interested to know that I have found Dragon NaturallySpeaking 10 much improved and far easier to train and use than previous versions.

Written by admin

February 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

Posted in from David

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keep on keepin on, Dave; we continut to pray foo you here in Thailand. May God Bless and comfort you and your family and give all of you the strength to keep on track. God Bless, John and Maeo

    John

    February 16, 2010 at 4:16 pm

  2. Hi Dave

    Still thinking of you and praying every day.

    Love Leonie & Cliff

    Leonie

    February 16, 2010 at 4:45 pm

  3. Great to see you on line again, Dave. Hooray for technology.

    Love Roger and Celia

    Celia

    February 17, 2010 at 9:02 am

  4. It was so good to visit with you all today and I hope the boys found their favourite books in the library, I love your easy access by the new ramp, so well built by uncle. Thank you uncle. I remembered now the message I wrote, which then disappeared into cyber space because I did not press “submit comment”. It was about the Pukekohe Christian school that Rachel attends. Jessica Sonneveld daughter of Helma and Gus, also goes there, and is about the same age. This is a lovely Christian family, who also have 8 kids, and some go to the Covenant in Manurewa. They have offered to help out if ever you need it in conjunction with the Puke school. Their phone number is 2****** then press 3. They live between Drury and the Karaka Scool on Highway 22. May be Rachel has already met her. May blessings abound, Juliette

    Juliette Urquhart

    February 17, 2010 at 4:39 pm

  5. Very glad to “hear” from you with the new technology. Does the marrow search span the Pacific? Thanks again for the hard work of keeping all this going while sick!
    I seem to see traffic generally increasing om the site, leading to a phenomenal tipping-point out there somewhere! Also thanks for recent book review.

    Praying in Washington, –Chuck

    Chuck McClellan

    February 21, 2010 at 4:17 am


Leave a Reply

