David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Perspective

with 10 comments

I had a wonderful day yesterday. I went to church in the morning. After church Joe and I celebrated our birthdays with all my family. He’s nearly nine and I’m a few days shy of 42. Sam and I then went out for dinner. Sam’s shout!

Last week I asked each of the children if their was anything they really wanted to do with Dad. Sam wanted to take me out to dinner. Done. The younger children all said they wanted to go to the movies and see “How to Train a Dragon”.  We are going today. Timothy (4 years old) is a very thoughtful child. He said yesterday, “I hope you don’t die tonight or we won’t be able to go to the movie.”

Tim’s decided he wants to be a farmer. He says, “Mum will be OK when she is old because I will give her free eggs, chicken and maybe cow.” He knows that God may still help Daddy and if not, if things take a turn for the worse, he says, “Jesus will grow Daddy back again.” As an explanation of the resurrection from a four year old, that’s not too bad.

For myself, I find if I think about what I might miss out on in the future; children’s weddings, Sam becoming CEO at his work etc, I can get discouraged. Instead I get up each morning with the attitude that I am alive and well today – and try to make the best use of today, with Tarnya, with the children, with friends and family, and for the kingdom of God. This is a very exciting way to live.

It’s harder to live like this when you think there is plenty of time and you’re expecting to live into your nineties. I encourage you to have a go. Don’t wait for cancer to change your perspective. If I could have another 42 years living like this …  🙂

Written by admin

May 17, 2010 at 8:50 am

Posted in from David

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good morning Dave & Tarnya,

    Dave, your posting today brought back so many memories, and made me smile. I love the purity of Timothy’s questions and Sam’s generous offer to take you out for dinner. What a special time. It was Ben’s birthday not long before Carl died, and he chose to go to Pizza Hut for dinner – not really a favourite for Carl, but we all went and had a very special night together. We also had a lot of laughs together in that last few days which come to mind from time to time still.

    Our situations were and are quite different, and who knows but God, the outcome may still be different. But I am glad you are all talking about the possibility of death and making room for that in your plans because there will be far less regrets for everyone, and… if you do live to be a much older man, these will be precious memories for you still.

    Dave, I haven’t written much. I find it difficult to express my thoughts, but I know that you are walking through this valley in the best Hands possible and that He will NOT let any of you go.

    My love to you all.

    Sharon

    Sharon Josephson

    May 17, 2010 at 10:09 am

  2. Dear Pastor Dave,

    A very inspiring sharing!

    Our church in Malaysia here prayed for you and your family yesterday.

    David

    David Ting

    May 17, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    • Thank you David. Thank you to all our brothers and sisters in Christ in Malaysia who lift us up to the throne of grace. Hebrews 4:16.

      admin

      May 17, 2010 at 5:45 pm

  3. David,

    You don’t know me but I know of you and the path you are now traveling entered my mind the second I had kids. The possibility of me not being there for them and knowing beforehand that there was a possibility have moved me into action, have kept me up at night, have frozen me in fear. But then I read the bible where it says that in the love of God there is NO fear. I now rest my thoughts in that scripture. I pray that if this in actuality the last pages of your story before our resurrection that God gives you his love that conquers all. And I thank you for your encouragement to challenge every reader by sharing your story. God bless your family. I lost my mom at 19 but I found our heavenly father shortly after that. Know that your kids will be under the cover of his glory. May your seed yield 100 fold. I will NEVER leave you nor forsake you says the Lord.
    God bless you as you face the Giant, David. We will be praying for God’s will in your life.

    Dario

    May 17, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  4. To Dave, Tarnya and all the Burgelets,
    I have logged on to your blog to discover such unwanted progress reports… but as usual delivered with such perspective, humour and life that a smile joins the passage of tears as I read.
    There is a tremendous amount of grace in your words, (taste in your selection of cartoons) and the strength that you and Tarnya have shown in the last few months is phenomenal and yet, not unsurprising. I continue to watch with admiration, never without hope, as you share this journey. Our love and thoughts are with you all.

    Hedges family

    May 17, 2010 at 8:12 pm

  5. Hi David,

    Just wanted you to know that we are thinking of you. I missed our old home group tonight! Garry was there but you were missed. I heard that you were at the movies. How fun to be out with the kids.

    There are many memories left to make. Thank you for your good advice about living for today. Sobering but very important to not worry about tomorrow.

    We love you!
    The Laktins

    Marilyn Laktin

    May 17, 2010 at 9:24 pm

  6. Great having the update which I always read to Vicky. Her RP has progressed preventing her from reading.
    Tim’s comment was so deep it demonstrates something of the good teaching all the family have had from you David & Tarnya. Biblical teaching which will stand them in good stead for the future. Be sure the Lord will use them to lead lost souls the Christ Jesus.
    Many families are robbed of the love & teachings of Jesus. You have sowen the good seed & it’s springing to life in the daily living of the family.

    Brian & Vicky

    May 17, 2010 at 11:16 pm

  7. In New York city when the garbage truck driver threw a bottle of water and hit our car and you laughed like a hyena I knew you where an extraordinary person. I wouldn’t have wanted to be stuck in that intersection with anyone else but you and Garry.

    In everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus.

    Russell and Noelle

    May 18, 2010 at 12:31 am

    • I told that very story to someone (can’t remember who) within the last couple of weeks when we were stuck in a traffic jam.

      David Burge

      May 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm

  8. […] the word of Dave “Don’t wait for cancer to change your perspective. Live fully […]


Leave a Reply

