David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Time for some humour

with 3 comments

I found this when I was updating a post http://www.bookstoread.co.nz/2009/08/george-and-martha-by-james-marshall/ and it made me laugh. I have a confession: I’m sometimes competitive. That probably isn’t a secret :-/.

When Dave and I were getting to know each other he beat me in darts, chess, snooker, any strategy game and scrabble. It was a poor consolation that I could beat him in running and Pac Man!

He used to enjoy playing Axis and Allies with his cousin Peter and later on with Russell Carle. He said it would take me 5 years to learn enough about the game to beat him, so I never bothered learning it. Perhaps he said that so I wouldn’t try, because both Sam and Noah have beaten him, but it was always because he had such bad die rolls ;-).

However, like George in the above cartoon I’ve learned to enjoy playing and about 10 years into our marriage I started winning at scrabble, not that I kept track ;-).

Written by admin

June 17, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Posted in from Tarnya, Humour

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Haha!Too funny.I am somewhat competitive, Stuart is not, or should I say, he doesn’t like it when others are competitive.

    Don’t worry, if he wins the games we all know that the wife is the one who is right every time. 🙂

    Jennifer

    June 18, 2010 at 3:37 am

  2. The kids and I enjoyed having a short break from Maths and writing to watch ‘George and Martha’. Some of it was quite familiar sounding. There were sidelong glances at each other and little giggles throughout.

    Vicki

    June 18, 2010 at 10:06 am

  3. Since its confession time. We dont tend to play many board games in our house as I am a bit too competitive and a wee bit of a sore loser!! As it is rather difficult to beat Alan in any games. Elizabeth has managed to do it a few times though!!!

    Kathie & Alan

    June 18, 2010 at 8:31 pm


Leave a Reply

