David Burge Updates

David Burge updates his journey with leukemia

Update

with 32 comments

We saw the consultant yesterday. The chemo is no longer working. He estimates that Dave has about 2 weeks left.

We have been blessed by many comments on the blog; by the assurance of your prayers and thoughts; and by some very thoughtful and practical gifts.  Thank you.

Thank you to those who have written beautiful letters of  tribute. Dave has appreciated these.

Only visits from immediate family from now on please.

If you have anything that you still want to say to Dave please pop it in a card, comment on the blog, or send a private email. I will be reading all Dave’s  mail to him.

Written by admin

June 25, 2010 at 7:56 am

32 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dear Dave, Tarnya and Family,
    Be assured of our continued prayer and loving thoughts. I just went into the living room to tell my sister, Luella Johnson, that with the chemo not working death is expected to come within 2 weeks. We have many happy memories of times together at General Conference, Dave, and are praising the Lord for your faithfulness in your fine ministry in New Zealand. And we are now much better acquainted with you, Tarnya and your wonderful family. Praise the Lord for the resurrection hope. Love, Austin

    A ustin R Warriner

    June 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

  2. Hi Dave and Tarnya

    My thoughts and prayer are with you constantly. Your strength is amazing. Love you both very much, Sarah xxx

    Sarah

    June 25, 2010 at 8:26 am

  3. You don’t know us, but we have met you a couple of times in Hamilton. We have been following your updates and praying for you all over the last few months. This is just to let you know that we will be continuing to ask God to uphold you all, and to give you His peace that passes all understanding.

    David & Jill Marshall

    June 25, 2010 at 8:29 am

  4. Hi Cousin Dave and family,
    I’ve been reading your blog everyday and I am impressed but not surprised at how you and your family are triumphing in the face of adversity. I have many memories of you in my life and the blog last week, about how competitive people can be, really brought forth a memory that David and my family share from many years ago. David was staying with us for a few days when we were all kids and the family decided to play a game of Monopoly. It was a great game and of course David won. What I remember to this day was how much joy it bought Dave to win and the boasting was unprecedented. I can’t help but smile every time I think about it. My thoughts go out to you and our family. If this illness does finally beat you I can’t think of anyone I’d rather have welcoming me and my family to heaven, say hi to Granddad and Uncle Pete from me.
    Love,
    Aron

    Aron Neale

    June 25, 2010 at 8:32 am

  5. May God hold you all real close as you go through this part of your journey.

    wanda Hughes

    June 25, 2010 at 8:36 am

  6. Dave, you will always be my favourite metronome 🙂

    So do not fear, for I am with you;
    do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
    I will strengthen you and help you;
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

    Isaiah 41:10 NIV (taken out of context but safely so I think)

    Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep [die], or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope. We believe that Jesus died and rose again and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him. According to the Lord’s own word, we tell you that we who are still alive, who are left till the coming of the Lord, will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. Therefore encourage each other with these words.

    1 Thess 4:13-18 NIV. When Dave falls asleep he will will be in an unconscious state, and the next thing he will know is the glorious return of the Lord. After that he will have a new body uncorrupted by cerebal palsy, leukemia, and the other effects of sin.

    Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth; for the first heaven and the first earth passed away, and there is no longer any sea. And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them, and He will wipe away every tear from their eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain; the first things have passed away.” And He who sits on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new ” And He said, “Write, for these words are faithful and true.” Then He said to me, “It is done I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end I will give to the one who thirsts from the spring of the water of life without cost. “He who overcomes will inherit these things, and I will be his God and he will be My son.

    Rev 21:1-7

    I saw Dave two days ago and he wasn’t up to much conversation, largely due to the morphine and chemo pills I suspect, as well as pain. However, he said that he expected to get this news and was planning to tell the consultant that there was no more hope (in the medical sense), in order to spare the doctor from always being the bearer of bad news. Dave is still thinking of others, which is a major part of his character (and Tarnya’s).

    I’ve added a few photos of Dave and family that I took two days ago. Click here to view the first one and then use the right arrow key to see the rest.

    All the photos that I have taken of Dave since he became unwell are gathered together at http://mandenomoments.com/david-burge

  7. Thinking of you. Praying, believing in good things from a good God and still being inspired by your faith, courage and thoughtfulness. God Bless you all.

    Adele Paulin

    June 25, 2010 at 10:33 am

  8. Thinking & praying for you all. May God’s love strengthen you & give you peace.

    Katrina

    June 25, 2010 at 11:11 am

  9. Dave and Tarnya,

    The scripture that comes to my mind is 2 Cor. 1:3-5 (NIV): “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.”

    God has obviously poured out his grace on you during life’s most trying time. Not only are you experiencing his grace and comfort, but you are powerfully ministering to others with “the comfort you yourselves have received from God” as it literally overflows from you to bless all who perceive it.

    Don’t be surprised, Dave, if on that great and glorious Day when you hear the accolade “Well done, good and faithful servant,” history reveals that your most powerful and effective ministry was in the home stretch.

    It was said of those who followed Christ alongside John Wesley, “They die well.” What a powerful testimony to a watching world that Jesus truly conquered death!

    Though my heart is heavy at the difficulties your family is facing, I also am eager to see the ongoing outpouring of God’s truly amazing grace and the glory he will receive from it!

    Continuing in prayer,
    Rex
    Phil 1:12, 20

    Rex Hutto

    June 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

  10. I will always fondly remember the time I had with David and his wonderful family and church. Thank you for allowing me to get to know you.

    Our church here in Sydney will continue to pray for those who are left behind and specially for the brethren in Christ.

    Keep the faith…

    “You were running a good race. Who cut in on you to keep you from obeying THE TRUTH [Gospel]?…Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.” Gal 5.7; 1Cor 9.24

    Xavier

    June 25, 2010 at 2:48 pm

  11. God be with you each moment of each coming day. You are a blessing to many, in showing us how to live and also how to die. Your crown is waiting David, from the Lord’s gracious hand,when you awaken again. Thank you and Tarnya for your ministry to me indirectly and across the ocean.

    Love in Jesus, Edward

    Edward Fudge

    June 25, 2010 at 3:14 pm

  12. Dear Dave,

    I am praying for you and your family.

    David

    David Ting

    June 25, 2010 at 3:23 pm

  13. Hi.

    If I could give David some strength I would. Now is the time for the family to draw together and face the future together. I hope Tarnya and the children all support each other and get assistance from Whanau and friends.

    Richard Haakma

    June 25, 2010 at 5:50 pm

  14. Hi,

    We are continuing to pray for you.

    The guys in my mens group wanted to share the following with you:

    CANCER IS LIMITED

    IT CANNOT CRIPPLE LOVE IT CANNOT SHATTER HOPE
    IT CANNOT CORRODE FAITH IT CANNOT EAT AWAY PEACE
    IT CANNOT DESTROY CONFIDENCE
    IT CANNOT KILL FRIENDSHIP IT CANNOT SHUT OUT MEMORIES
    IT CANNOT SILENCE COURAGE
    IT CANNOT INVADE THE SOUL
    IT CANNOT REDUCE ETERNAL LIFE
    IT CANNOT QUENCH THE SPIRIT,
    AND IT CANNOT LESSEN THE POWER
    OF THE RESURRECTION.

    Alan Pace

    June 25, 2010 at 7:56 pm

  15. David, reading “two weeks to go” brought tears to my eyes.

    Thankyou for our friendship, from 10 years old to 40-mumble years old. You’ll be pleased and surprised no doubt to find me writing a piece on “how we do theology” for a christian website, in spite of now calling myself an “open agnostic”. I trust g0d, if she is there, to keep me in her hands.

    Wish we had more time to talk, so I guess we’ll have to debate theology in the afterlife. Darn it, I guess we might know all the answers then. Won’t that be boring? 😉

    I will keep this short and simply say “see you on the other side”. With much love

    Jonathan B

    spritzophrenia

    June 25, 2010 at 10:15 pm

  16. PS: I’m also working on a book on the meaning of life, titled “42 is not enough”. If I ever finish it, I have a feeling I will dedicate it to you.

    spritzophrenia

    June 25, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  17. Dear Dave, Tarnya, and all those fantastic kids,

    I deserve what you have been going through. In former years I battered my body with nicotine and booze. There have been moments when my circumstances brought me to the point of wanting a way off this mortal coil. For some reason our Father has elected you to close your eyes for the briefest of moments until that day of the Lord when we will all arise to see Him as He is. With such a commitment to walking with Him, and the beautiful family you have provided as a witness to His goodness, this situation raises more questions than it answers. I mean, what if the “hokey pokey” really is “waht it’s all about?” I jest …..
    Dave, thank you. Tarnya, it has been an honour to know you as briefly as I have. The kids, you all said the most gracious and humerous words to me and Sandra. How I wish my situation allowed me to be there with you all.
    The problem is, Dave, you had so much race to run, but for His own reasons, it will soon end. If He collects all our tears in a bottle, then may they be returned to you as priceless jewels of witness and testimony. Words cannot express my gratitude for all the things you have written, shared and said to many people the world over, myself included.
    In the twinkling of an eye brother, in the twinkling of an eye. No sooner will you sleep, and we will see each other again.
    Maranatha, come Lord Jesus.
    Chris.

    Chris Kelly

    June 25, 2010 at 11:26 pm

  18. Although many prayers have been offered for healing for Dave,it seems that God’s healing will be in His presence, where there will be no more pain and suffering. God Bless you Dave and thank you for your involvement in our lives.
    To Tarnya and family, what a shining example you have been of putting your whole trust in God. May He keep you all and may you all savour many many happy memories of your family life with Dave.
    Go well and God be with you all during these final difficult days of a difficult journey

    Beth & Dennis

    June 26, 2010 at 8:01 am

  19. God has chosen to heal Dave in His presence, so we pray that the final journey into His presence will be made easily. Thank you Dave for your involvement in our lives and for your witness through many difficult situations. We have always appreciated the humour you put into so much of your life.
    Thank you too Tarnya for sharing the difficult journey the family has been on since last November. May you have gleaned some wonderful memories to help you through the times ahead. You have all prepared yourselves well and can be thankful you have had this period of preparation. God be with you all as you continue to take each day at a time.

    Beth & Dennis

    June 26, 2010 at 8:14 am

  20. hey there guys – just thinking how the little church won’t be big enough! Maybe you could cause a traffic jam or complete closure of Great South Road – hee hee wouldn’t that be fun! I can just see the 6 o clock news – Dav’s funeral closes Papakura to traffic!
    I have enjoyed your company for the last year and a half – and it’s been great, a real pleasure and blessing. Wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

    The Lord bless you and keep you and make his face to Shine upon you and grant you His peace.
    Karen

    karen

    June 26, 2010 at 11:28 am

  21. Dear ones, You are all in my prayers as you have been these past months.Our hope and security IS in Christ and how thankful we are for His being, His life, His death and His resurection!My love to you all and especially Rachel, I am there for you my dear.Much love Shelley.

    Shelley Skelton

    June 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  22. I am so sorry to hear this.

    May these next few weeks be full up to the brim with life and love.

    Stacey

    stacey

    June 26, 2010 at 8:05 pm

  23. Dear David, My thoughts and prayers are with you at this time. What a glorious future for you,although sadness for the family.
    Much love and prayers, Peg Steele

    { sent via Beth’s email as Peg is not computer literate and wanted to get this message through}

    Peg Steele

    June 28, 2010 at 3:25 pm

  24. Dave and Tarnya,
    There is much prayer going up from me and many in the US, Thailand and elsewhere.
    John Middlewood said as follows in an email to me on Saturday…

    “[I] would appreciate it if you would pass on to the both of them how much their witness over the last few months has meant to me. David will never know how many times his witness has pulled me out of a slump and brought me back to reality. so I wish that you could pass on to him my thanks personally.”

    My love to you both, and to the children,
    Ernie (currently in Singapore)

    Ernie Schache

    June 28, 2010 at 4:27 pm

  25. I am continually praying for you all, especially Tarnya as you are approaching such a huge change in your life. There aren’t words in my vocabulary to comfort you. Thank you for your strength as you have kept us all up to date over the past months, may God continue to supply it for you in abundant quantities. The few times I have met David I have been touched by the peace and love emanating from him. He will soon be at home surrounded by peace and love completely. God will Father your children and support you. That much I can speak from experience.

    Rose

    June 28, 2010 at 6:43 pm

  26. praying for peace and eternity in your hearts…
    much love
    Jamie and Karen Nicholls

    karenN

    June 28, 2010 at 11:43 pm

  27. When we see your photo & remember your life Dave, there is one word that comes to mind: “TRIUMPHANT” & this is how we continue to see you Dave for you are still triumphant in serving the Lord.
    The words of Titus bring such joy to God’s children, “looking for that blessed tikvah (hope) & the glorious appearing of our great God & Saviour”
    A time we all look toward, as having received Christ Jesus as Lord & Saviour, faith & trust grounded in Him it’s victory all the way!
    Brian & Vicky

    Brian & Vicky

    June 29, 2010 at 12:21 am

  28. It is with some sadness that we have received Dave’s latest prognosis, but we were so uplifted after our last visit with you only a few weeks ago, knowing that your confidence is in God and that even death holds no fear for you. This is a great witness to everyone around. The legacy of faithfulness you both are giving to your family is so great and we are certain that God will honour your committment, for the riches and wealth of this world will never parallel it. If God should choose to take Dave home soon, we will always remember this with much thankfulness until we meet again in those glorified bodies that won’t have weakness and disability and we will always be in God’s presence. 1 Thess.4:17 & 18. What a hope.
    “For I am convinced that neither death, nor life nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any created thing will be able to separate us from the love of God,which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38,39.
    Please be assured that you all are constantly in our prayers including everyone here at Community Bible Church Rodney

    Alvyn & Valerie

    June 29, 2010 at 9:25 am

  29. Dave (and Tarnya) I hope it’s ok to pass on the words I wrote about you elsewhere. http://spritzophrenia.wordpress.com/2010/06/27/agnostic-music-music-week/

    The music there is agnostic, although humorous. At the end of the week I will be posting some christian music, including this one, which by coincidence is very appropriate.

    Thinking of you (and Tarnya and the kids)

    Jonathan

    spritzophrenia

    June 29, 2010 at 5:28 pm

  30. To read & re-read the testimonies above is sure evidence the Lord has, still is, & still will continue to bless your ministry to so many & the harvest of souls will continue for in Christ Jesus there is no end

    Brian & Vicky

    Brian & Vicky

    June 30, 2010 at 1:48 am

  31. DAVE & TARNYA:
    We’ve been following your blog and have chatted a few times with your Mum and Dad (Dave), and want to let you know you’re very much in our thoughts and prayers. Frankly, it sucks that a bad thing like this ends up happening to such a nice guy – and that’s how you’ll always be remembered by us.
    We first knew you (at least 100 years ago) as a fresh-faced kid in the Takanini Youth Group – plucky, interested in everything, willing to try anything, and too intelligent for your own good. Since then we’ve followed you more from a distance, regrettably, but have continued to admire your accomplishments and your courage.
    We have some idea what you and your family must be going through, and are just thankful that you’re all in the Father’s good hands.
    With much love and concern … John & Robyn Cooney

    John and Robyn Cooney

    June 30, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  32. Dear Dave, Tarnya & Family,
    I have not had the privilege of meeting you personally. I am affiliated with Anthony Buzzard’s ministry in the United States. Your faith and courage are a true testimony for all to see and witness. Our church has been in fervent prayer since we heard of your battle with leukemia. May God wrap His loving arms around you and your household and grant you unparalleled peace at this stage of your journey.

    Trusting in the Lord,

    TJ

    TJ Butler

    July 2, 2010 at 3:57 pm


Leave a Reply

